Storytime: Puppies & Dogs

DOOR 2 DOOR STORYTIME

EARLY CHILDHOOD LITERACY SKILL: Phonological Awareness & Narrative Skill

BOOKS TO DISPLAY

Doggy Dog by Chris Raschka
A Ball for Daisy by Chris Raschka
One Pup’s Up
by Marsha Wilson Chaill
Dog’s Day
by Jane Cabrera
Racer Dogs by Bob Kolar
A Lucky Dog by Dirk Wales
Dog’s Birthday
by Emma Dodd
Dog Eared
by Amanda Harvey
Bad Dog, Marley!
by John Grogan
Puppies! Puppies! Puppie! by Susan Meyers
Dog and Cat
by Richardo Alcantara
Please Take Me for a Walk
by Susan Gal
Night Lights
by Susan Gal
Yip! Snap! Yap! by Charles Fuge
Snuggle Puppy!
by Sandra Boynton
10 Little Hot Dogs
by John Himmelman
Katie and the Puppy Next Door
by John Himmelman
The Dirty Dog by Gene Zion
Say Hello to Zorro!
by Carter Goodrich
Scritch-Scratch: A Perfect Match
by Kimberly Marcus
Small Brown Dog’s Bad Remembering Day
by Mike Gibbie

BASIC TIMELINE

  1. Intro
  2. Flannelboard
  3. Read-a-Loud Book
  4. Puppet Rhyme
  5. Read-a-Loud Book
  6. Flannelboard
  7. Action Rhyme
  8. Read-a-Loud Book
  9. Craft

READ-A-LOUD BOOKS

Puppie & Dog Books

Katie Loves the Kittens by John Himmelman
Bark, George by Jules Feiffer
Dog’s Colorful Day by Emma Dodd

ACTIVITIES

Flannelboard: Six Little Dogs (via Johnson County Library)
Six little dogs that I once knew,
fat ones, skinny ones, fair ones too.
But the one little dog with the brown curly fur,
He led the others with a grr, grr, grr.
Grr, grr, grr.
Grr, grr, grr.
He led the others with a grr, grr, GRR!

(Tune: Six Little Ducks)

Puppet Rhyme: Rags (via Johnson County Library)
My little puppy, his name is Rags,

he eats so much that his tummy drags.
Big floppy ears and a tail that wags,
and when he walks, he zig zags.
Flip, flop, wiggle, waggle, zig zag.
When I whistle he never obeys,
he always runs the other way.
He doesn’t have a pedigree,
but I love him and he loves me.
Flip, flop, wiggle, waggle, zig zag!

Flannelboard: BINGO  (via Perry Public Library)
There was a farmer had a dog,
and Bingo was his name-o.
B-I-N-G-O, B-I-N-G-O,  B-I-N-G-O
and Bingo was his name-o.

Action Rhyme: Some Dogs Bark (via Perry Public Library)
Some dogs bark.

Some dogs growl.
Some dogs yip.
Some dogs howl.
Some dogs wiggle their tails!

CRAFT: Puppy Dog Puppets!

Puppy Dog Puppet

This week’s storytime craft was inspired by a really awesome version I found on the DLTK Crafts for Kids website. Unfortunately, their version was too complex because it required so much cutting (if only I had a team of volunteers to prep my crafts!). Plus, The Dollar Tree only sales brown paper bags. Given these limitations, I used the original to create  my own template. To save on cutting, I used jumbo sized googly eyes.

REVIEW:

This was one of the best storytimes ever!  Both preschool classes were enthralled by this week’s storytime theme, and each child adored our storytime guest, “Rags.” They liked Rags so much, I passed him around at the end of storytime for each child to pet. Katie Loves the Kittens went over really well. This is my favorite story by John Himmelman, and it is a guaranteed hit during storytime sessions. If you haven’t read it yet, I recommend giving it a try! Bark, George is another great story. I’m working on creating a puppet version, but lack some of the minor characters (i.e. I need a tiny cow to put inside George), so I read the book this time around. Its such a silly, and delightful story and my munchkins were thrilled by some of the unexpected twists and turns. During the first session, one teacher’s aide found the part about the visit to the doctor’s office to be so entertaining that she chortled hysterically. I was hard pressed to keep a straight face, but I was glad everyone enjoyed the story. I LOVE being able to introduce people to new books! The extension activities were a big hit, and we performed a couple of them multiple times. The kids went bonkers when I revealed the craft, but because storytime ran a bit longer than planned I had to leave the craft with their teachers with the hope they could assemble them later in the day.

Storytime

theDoor2DoorLibrarian View All →

Professional book dealer. Getting people hooked on books since 2012. Everyday I’m hustling.